Wellington College

Wellington College Belfast

Co-Educational Grammar School

Engage | Educate | Empower

Transport to Wellington

Various bus and train routes provide transportation to and from the school

How to get to Wellington College - New details (2016)

View PDF


Services via Ormeau/Ravenhill Road:

Approximately every 15 minutes, any of the following routes.

Route 7A/B
Route 77
Route 78A
Route 78
Route 8A Erinvale Avenue/Finaghy Road South
via Malone and Stranmillis.
Get off and walk up embankment
or continue to City Centre and take 7A or 7B


Service from East Belfast

Route 188 Icebowl  Departs Ballybeen Square, Icebowl, King’s Road, Gilnahirk, Braniel, Knock Dual Carriageway, Castlereagh Road, Ladas Drive, Mount Merrion Avenue, Knockbreda Road (alighting just after Rosetta Primary School).
Leaving  A number of buses leaving Ballybeen Square from 7.25am and 7.45am onwards at Icebowl 7.33am, 7.47am, 7.53am
Leaving Knockbreda Road bus stop at  15.45 pm approximately 

Country Routes

Service from Ballygowan:

Route 12 will connect with 188 on Castlereagh Road
7.30am - 7.40am several leaving Ballygowan
16.10 pm leaving Belfast connecting on Castlereagh Road approx 16.20 pm

Service from Ballynahinch:

Route 18/20 Newcastle Service through Ballynahinch

Service from Saintfield:

Route 15

NB Routes 15/18/20 serve Carryduff

There is also one bus specifically for Wellington pupils leaving Ballynahinch at 7.45 am stopping at all stops on route via Carryduff.


Pupils Travelling by train from Lisburn or Bangor should disembark at ‘Botanic Avenue’ station where they can connect with the Four Winds bus.


Direct School Bus from School to Carryduff/Ballynahinch departs 3.30pm (Turning Circle).
On Fridays the College finishes at 2.45 pm and extra buses have been provided for the Ballynahinch and Dundonald Icebowl routes.
On ‘Special Closure’ days when the College finishes early, supervised study is available on request for pupils who may have to wait for an appropriate bus service.
There will be no School Buses when school closes at 12 noon

Timetables are available at the Office, should pupils need to refer to them.